CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME)

The CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) is an arrangement among the CARICOM States for the creation of a single enlarged economic space through the removal of restrictions resulting in the free movement of goods, services, people, capital and technology. It is intended to benefit the people of the region by providing greater prospects for employment, expanding opportunities to produce and sell goods and services and encouraging increased investment. The CSME seeks to increase production and trade in goods and services in a combined market of approximately six million people.


The CSME is comprised of 12 member states, including Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.


Under the CSME, CARICOM Nationals are entitled to the following rights:

  • Free movement of goods.

  • Free movement of people.

  • Free movement of services.

  • Free movement of capital.

  • Right to establish a business in any CARICOM member state.


Citizens of CSME states who meet certain criteria can apply for a Certificate of Recognition of CARICOM Skills Qualification that allows them to work in any CSME member state. Please follow the link in the Quick Links section on the left of the screen for more information on obtaining a Certificate of Recognition of CARICOM Skills Qualification.

Where can I find more information?

For further information about the CARICOM Single Market and Economy please contact the CSME unit at:


CARICOM Single Market and Economy Unit

Sunjet House

26-32 Edward Street

Port of Spain 

Trinidad, West Indies

Tel. (868) 625-7724 ext 2077 or ext 2078

Fax. (868) 623-2170

CSME website


back to top